Ferrari logo

    Kirchmayr and Christensen win Coppa Shell Race-1 at Spa

    Spa-Francorchamps 11 settembre 2021

    The Spa Francorchamps circuit in the Ardennes witnessed excitement and spectacle in the Ferrari Challenge Coppa Shell. After 30 hard-fought minutes, Ernst Kirchmayr (Baron Motorsport) won the Coppa Shell, while Peter Christensen (Formula Racing) triumphed in the Am.  

    Coppa Shell. Determined to launch a decisive assault on the lead of James Weiland (Rossocorsa) in the overall standings, poleman Ernst Kirchmayr immediately went all out. Behind him, Axel Sartingen (Lueg Sportivo) held his own while Weiland managed to shake off Guy Fawe (Scuderia FMA) and Fons Scheltema (Kessel Racing) to secure third. The leading trio pulled away in an exciting first phase, with Sartingen holding off the American’s attacks. Eventually, the Rossocorsa driver found the right opening with a skilful move heading into the Bus Stop chicane and took second. However, he failed in his quest for the lead, with Ernst Kirchmayr first over the line, narrowing Weiland’s advantage in the overall standings to just seven points. Having given up on top spot, Sartingen had to fend off a comeback by a rampant Scheltema. However, the “shark” didn’t manage to overtake, settling instead for fourth ahead of home driver, Guy Fawe.

    Coppa Shell Am. Laurent De Meeus (HR Owen – FF Corse) enjoyed a fantastic return to the series. After taking pole in the morning, he led the race comfortably for long stretches. However, he was thwarted by a determined Peter Christensen, who secured victory after a great comeback. As always, the race was exciting and spectacular. Martinus Richter (MERTEL Italo Cars Nürnberg) got off to a flying start, gaining six positions and the lead before various problems knocked him back. Tight battles raged for all 30 minutes on the seven kilometres of the Belgian circuit. Besides Christensen’s victory and De Meeus’ second place, a stunning Peter Stockmans (Francorchamps Motors Brussels) claimed the podium’s third step, despite the five seconds added to his race time following contact with Christian Kinch (Formula Racing). In his first-ever race, the Belgian driver claimed third place and the best lap time in class. Willem Van Der Vorm (Scuderia Monte-Carlo) finished fourth after a consistent performance that yielded crucial championship points. Behind him came Matthias Moser (Baron Motorsport), Joakim Olander (Scuderia Autoropa) and Italian Giuseppe Ramelli (Rossocorsa – Pellin Racing).